The municipal council made to build a new town hall in 1499 on the place of several houses in present-day Palacky square, which had originally bought. In 1504-1510 has been completed with a municipal hall with a unique woodcarving decoration, and in 1577-1606 it was adjusted in Renaissance style, later in 1664-1666 there was addend a tower with the astronomical clock and many other arrangements were done. This way was built the second largest town hall complex (after the Old Town Hall in Prague), which formed the heart of the Down for more than three centuries. The Down hall was seriously damaged by the fire in 1770, five years later were its ruins taken off and from the new open space was created the main square in Kutná Hora, called Panské (Manorial).